Out of Stock
4.0 out of 5 Customer Rating
Holmes® Desktop HEPA-Type Air Purifier with Optional Ionizer Small Air Purifier (HAP242B-U) is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 84.
  • y_2022, m_12, d_7, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_397575, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_holmes
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
Out of Stock

Holmes® Desktop HEPA-Type Air Purifier with Optional Ionizer Small Air Purifier (HAP242B-U)

4.0 out of 5 Customer Rating
Holmes® Desktop HEPA-Type Air Purifier with Optional Ionizer Small Air Purifier (HAP242B-U) is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 84.
  • y_2022, m_12, d_7, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_397575, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_holmes
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Show More

Product Details

Description
The Holmes® Desktop Air Purifier with HEPA-type filter captures particles as small as 2 microns and operates quietly to remove up to 99% of airborne particles such as pollen, dust, mold, pet dander, and smoke, providing relief from odor and irritants in the air so you can breathe comfortably. The optional ionizer ensures particles are more easily captured and also tackles odors. The Holmes® Desktop Air Purifier can be placed vertically or horizontally and is designed to fit just about anywhere and effectively treat the air around you.
Features
  • REMOVES UP TO 99% OF AIRBORNE PARTICLES: The Holmes® Desktop HEPA-Type Air Purifier with Optional Ionizer captures particles as small as 2 microns from air passing through the HEPA-Type filter, removing up to 99% of airborne particles and allergens, such as pollen, dust, mold, pet dander, and smoke from the air so you can breathe more comfortably.
  • INCLUDES IONIZER: This Holmes® air purifier features an optional air ionizer that helps to bind negative ions to airborne smoke, dust, and pollen to form larger particles that are more easily captured, helping to clean air more thoroughly and tackling odors
  • 70 CADR: Air purifier provides a 70 CADR (Clean Air Delivery Rate)
  • CUSTOMIZABLE SETTINGS: 3 speed settings to help you keep your air clean and pure
  • SLIM DESIGN, IDEAL FOR SMALL ROOMS: Recommended for rooms up to 109 sq. ft.; can be placed vertically or horizontally anywhere, including a table or desktop.
  • DURABLE: 3-year limited warranty
Specifications
  • Model: HAP242B-U
  • Dimensions: 9.7x13.0x6.3
  • Wattage: 45
  • Filter Technology: hepa-type
  • Color: White
  • Room Size: small
  • Power Source: 2-Prong Plug (Polarity type)
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What filter do I buy for this unit? I have had this air purifier for about 4 years and it is still going strong! I bought a refill filter when I purchased the unit at Target, but now I need a replacement filter for it and I don't know which filter to buy !!! Help! The number on the current filter I have is: HAPF30 It does not have any letters after the 30.... does anyone have any clues? This unit works marvelous in a bedroom. My daughter who lives in NYC comes home for Christmas and this little unit works wonders for her asthma and allergens to our pet cat...
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fantastic for smokers. I have three kids who come to visit. I am a smoker and the ex wife hads the kids coming back to her smelling of smoke. This little unit keeps the air nice and clean. She can't even smell that I had a cigarette.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works well I've got 3 of these units throughout the house. They are quiet and work really well. Very simple to set-up and start. It's surprising how much gets filtered out of the air on "quiet" and with just turning it on 24/7 and not really even noticing it running. This unit also has many filter and pre-filter options and the unit is really fairly priced.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ionizer button won't depress, blue lights bad It's Nov.25th2018 and I purchased this from Amazon on Aug.28th2018. Before Thanksgiving I pressed the ionizer button and it would NOT depress/un-press. Ozone air can be dangerous to small animals & bad for lungs/asthma sufferers. I put on temporarily and planned to leave the room. Had to stop running it as the button is broken/defective. The blue light at night is extremely disruptive to proper sleep/circadian rhythm. I try putting dark tape over, opaque anything to block the light but it still comes through like a laser burning my retinas. Filled out a form for customer support before the holiday but have yet to hear anything. I plan on calling during regular business hours in hopes they will in fact help me/support this defective product.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality of Air Purifier The quality of the air purifier really stands out. I have been able to sleep better, and it has solved a number of lingering odor issues in a condo I've recently moved into.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this little machine. I sleep so much better at night with this sunny girl in the bedroom. What a value compared to the alternative offerings.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really works! We bought this just 2 months ago to put in our babies nursery, and it we loved it. Just recently it has started smelling like a hot motor, so we haven't used it for fear of over heating. Before the smell though we loved it. We'll try replacing the filter, and hopefully that will help. Other than that, we loved it!
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for allergies & asthma We've had this unit in my son's room for 8-10 years now. Never a problem with it. He shares his room w/our dog, but he's allergic to dust, mold, & seasonal things. He's now 16 & really notices when it's not w/him, such as at relatives, etc. We bought a different model for our bedroom and it also runs great.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help for asthma & allergy I got this machine a month ago & have since been blessed with much better breathing. I have asthma, allergies to the max,COPD & bad sinuses. This machine has allowed me to breathe around my cat&function perfectly in the house around this unit. Would recommend it to all
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Holmes customer Very happy with the unit. I wanted to give it 4.5 stars because it's larger than the old one it replaced (and it's in a tight space), but decided it wouldn't be a fair review of the product itself.
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a small room I have had a Holmes air purifier in the past and loved it. This machine is small, quiet, and purifies the air I breath at night. It is perfect for a small area.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holmes air purifier Great! The last one I purchased 25 years ago so I would say this is a very good product and well made.I just hope the new lasts as long
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works great in my office cubicle I bought 3 months ago for my work space and it works great for me. It has made a great difference in the air for my area
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!!!! I have had a unit like this before. Until it became obsolete, i loved it! This unit is the same quality!!!!!
Date published: 2020-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really good air filtering product. I bought this air filter years ago. Guess what? It's still working perfectly. I couldn't be more satisfied.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this for my desk at work. It works great. Not loud, easy to use, doesn’t take up a lot of space
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting I can't believe I have had the motor ri ning over 10 years might and day and just now ordering a new one!
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets rid of cat odor I bought it specifically to get rid of liter box odors and fish food odors from my cat and it works!
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and easy to clean filter. Perfect size for a small room and makes great white noise for sleeping.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits space perfectly Great machine for the price. Running 24-7 with no issues.
Date published: 2020-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price and good for counselors offices I bought this because we are in an old building and within the first month the airfilters were SO dirty. We get the top line filter now and i feel like each month it's not as dirty anymore and lasts longer. It is also great for white noise and volume, i mean strength adjuster, so it's great for when i am in session with client and need extra sound barrier too. Plus when a clietn comes in smelling of smoke, it has worked wonders to eliminate it from my nose
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quiet i bought this about a month ago and it works great
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it already Actually I just bought this today . With all the rain we’ve had this winter my sinuses have been driving me crazy from pet dander to mold. I literally was looking at some for $600 and I decided to get this just for my bedroom and I really can tell a difference already. I’m impressed!! Best 40.00 I have spent in a long time. It is a bit loud on number three but I Use a sound machine anyway so it does not bother me.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish it lasted more than 3 yrs I bought a HAP9242 about 3yrs ago and it worked great for the bedroom. I only used it about 3 months out of the Year during allergy season. I changed the filters as recommended and last night started noticing a burnt plastic smell in my sleep. When I woke up the unit was no longer working. The motor has burnt out. I'm pretty disappointed considering I only used it three to four months out of the year.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purifier Plug it in right out of the box. Compact, very quiet on low, cleans air effectively. Everything you want at a great price
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Noisey On the lowest speed it is noisier that the older unit I discarded. It could be there is a rubber grommet or gasket missing of of some of the motor mounts. I would appreciate it if you could check the noise level of others and let me know if that is possible. I would recommend this product but with the exception to the noise factor.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No so great I bought this almost a month ago, 2 week later just died. the filters still ok. this never fell. I dont know what happen to it but just turn off it self and doesnt respond since that day. I bought because to much dust here my apartment and i have a little girl, i dont smoke and dont have furry pets. i dont know what happend
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not perform as well as I’d hoped Have had it on for a month only in bedroom, allergies are still bad and haven’t noticed any less dust accumulating. Not even around the unit itself. I’ve dusted my room twice to see if it would make a difference in how often I need to dust but no. It’s an average sized room but I think this unit is more for a closet.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Desktop Air Purifiers and Filters Air purifier works great. Comes with one filter. Was sent an e-mail telling me that if I bought 4 filters I would get 4 free. I bought 8 filters thinking I would get 8 free. All that I received was just the 8 filters that I paid for, no free filters at all. Wrote the company, but have not heard anything yet.
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Maybe I got a dud. I bought the unit because I live in an apartment where I have to suffer with my neighbor's smoke smells. Unfortunately, what I notice is that the unit would not stop running unless I unplug it. Even when the unit is supposed to be off, it still runs. I did not feel comfortable with that to I returned it.
Date published: 2020-07-18
  • y_2022, m_12, d_7, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_397575, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_holmes
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • reviews, product

<!--begin-bvseo-questions--> <!--begin-questions--> <div id="bvseo-questionsSection"> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="5777168"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> What replacement filter is needed for this product&amp;nbsp; </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Banand</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="7530839"> Hi Banand! Thank you for choosing Holmes&amp;reg;️. We hope you are staying healthy and safe. We understand that you want to know the replacement filter for unit model HAP242B. We are more than happy to assist. Upon checking, these are the filters that is compatible with your air purifier (HAPF300AHD, HAPF300APD, HAPF30AT). You may purchase these filters on Amazon, Target, Walmart and other online and local stores. I hope this information helps. Have a nice day! <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2022-07-08</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="5463193"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> If you run the hap242 10 hours a day how often do you need to change each filter. </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Dtfrom ny</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="7530628"> Hi Dtfrom ny! Thank you for choosing Holmes&amp;reg;️. We are more than happy to assist you with your concern. Filter life will vary, depending on air quality and usage. Under normal conditions of continuous use, Filters with a 4 month filter life: Wash the foam pre-filter and replace the filter(s) after 4 months of operation. Filters with a 12 month filter life: After 4 months of operation, it is recommended to wash the foam pre-filter. We hope this information helps. Have a good one! <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2022-07-08</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="7651522"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> How do you maintain the filter </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: kwi0917</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="7529901"> Hi kwi0917! Thank you for choosing Holmes&amp;reg;️. We are more than happy to assist you with your concern. Filter life will vary, depending on air quality and usage. Please do not attempt to wash and re-use the HEPA-type filter. Under normal conditions of continuous use, Filters with a 4 month filter life: Wash the foam pre-filter and replace the filter(s) after 4 months of operation. Filters with a 12 month filter life: After 4 months of operation, it is recommended to wash the foam pre-filter. We hope this information helps. Have a good one! <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2022-07-07</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="5968025"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> how is this different from&amp;nbsp;HAP242-NUC? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: elithea</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6728625"> Hello there! Thank you for choosing Holmes. We will be more than happy to answer your question. They are the same unit. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2021-04-22</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="5948798"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Does this come with a washable prefilter the way that the white filter from around the year 2008 with the circular speed setting button on top did? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Loved2008Filter</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6726796"> Hi there! Thank you for choosing Holmes. We will be more than happy to answer your question. This does not come with a washable filter. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2021-04-21</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6056518"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> How do I clean the ionizer&#39;s filter or metal bars? Does it need cleaning (not the hepa filter, I mean ionizer part, ) and what if I use both (ionizer and air) at the same time for 24/7 ? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Vaik24</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6724810"> Hey there! Thank you for choosing Holmes. We will be more than happy to answer your question. The ionizer can be cleaned by a damp cloth. You might notice fine black dust if you run the ionizer for a long time. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2021-04-20</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="5986391"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> will a filter that fits HAPF30AT fit my hap-240 </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: cinders</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6700219"> Hi there, Cinders! We hope you are healthy and staying safe. For help in obtaining the replacement filter that you need, please send us a message by visiting our Contact Us Page. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. For your reference, the model number of the filter that you need is 166186-000-000. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2021-04-07</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="7013370"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> How does the month work on it ?&#13;&#10;Or what do u set it on? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Anonymous</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6388733"> Hi there! Thanks for reaching out to us. We would like to get more information about your concern. For further assistance, Please reach out to us at our toll-free number 1-800-546-5637. For your convenience, our Consumer Care Team is available Mon-Fri 9 am-5 pm, EST. You can also email us at Holmesconsumercare@newellco.com. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-11-30</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6920361"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> am I supposed to keep the foam filter in with the HEPA filter </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: taylormade</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6279386"> Hi, Taylormade! Thank you for reaching out. Yes, we highly recommend to keep the foam filter with the HEPA filter. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-10-14</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6761093"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Can i only use aer1 filter? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Mollydog</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6146086"> Hello, Mollydog! The only filter that will work with this air-purifier model is the Aer1 Replacement Filter Series. Thank you for asking. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2021-01-15</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6743263"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> I have this air Purifier and i really like it. But after one month I need a new filter. The instruction booklet does not tell me what kind of replacement filter I need. What is the number of the filter. How much do they cost through you? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Emerald52</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6139724"> This unit needs an HAPF30CS Aer1 filter. You can check out the price and order it by clicking on the &amp;ldquo;Filters&amp;rdquo; tab on our website. Thank you very much and have a nice day. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-07-30</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6690424"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> How do you shut the unit off? I move the switch over all the options and nothing works except unplugging it. </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: RobinC</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6121214"> I tried that. It&#39;s one of the options I mentioned. I returned it. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: RobinC</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-07-19</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6690276"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> How many hours does this take to purify the air in the specified room size (110sq ft?)? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: anon1</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6113985"> Hello! Thank you for your inquiry. It takes 30 minutes for the air purifier unit to help remove air pollutants and purify the air in the specified room size which is 110 square feet. We hope this information helps. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2022-05-04</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6714069"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> I drive an 18 wheeler across county and have been partnered up with a chain smoker. &amp;nbsp;Would this work in a cab of a truck? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Little teddy bear</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6112434"> Hello! Thank you for your inquiry. Yes, this desktop air purifier would work in the cab of your truck. But you may have to change or replace the filter more than usual. If you need further assistance, kindly give us a call at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 5:00 pm EST. Our product specialists will be more than happy to assist you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-07-13</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6648334"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Do you sell filters for Holmes air purifier/ionizer I need one, but mine is white&amp;nbsp; </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Lilymar</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6063295"> Hello, Lilymar! Thanks for reaching out! For further assistance regarding the availability of these filters, kindly give us a call at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat and email by clicking this link https://www.holmesproducts.com/customerservicecontact?cid&#61;contactus. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-06-11</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6629787"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> I don&#39;t see it saying that it is included with an air filter does it </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Kellyjo</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6050659"> Hello, Kellyjo! Yes, the filter is already included in the product.&#13;&#10;&#13;&#10;For further assistance, kindly give us a call at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat and email by clicking this link https://www.holmes.com/customerservicecontact?cid&#61;contactus. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-06-03</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6340629"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Does this unit use a carbon filter along with the AER1 filter? If so, where does it go? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: SusanAR</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6024422"> Hello Susan AR! Thank you for your inquiry. Yes, this unit uses carbon filter along with the AER1 filter. For reference, you may use this link as your guide. &#13;&#10;&#13;&#10;https://www.holmesproducts.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-holmes-products-Library/default/dwf47c8670/documents/instruction-manuals/HAP242_16EM1%20HEPA-Type%20Desktop%20Air%20Purifier.pdf&#13;&#10;&#13;&#10;If there&#39;s anything we can do to assist you, please don&#39;t hesitate to contact us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat and email by clicking this link https://www.holmesproducts.com/customerservicecontact?cid&#61;contactus. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-05-19</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6332011"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> How often do you change filter? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Latinalady2u</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6023957"> Hello! Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. Filter life will vary, depending on air quality and usage. Under normal conditions of continuous use, we recommend washing the foam pre-filter and replace the filter(s) after 4 months of operation. If you need further assistance, kindly give us a call at 1-800-253-2764. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat and email by clicking this link: https://www.holmesproducts.com/customerservicecontact?cid&#61;contactus. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-05-19</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6324744"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> I&#39;m having a terrible time finding the replacement filters for this model. The filter model number is HAPF30 Hepa-Type filter - A for a HAP240 purifier with ionizer. Please send me the item number so I can order. Thank you </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Anonymous</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6018250"> Hello! Thank you for your inquiry. We understand that you are looking for a replacement filter. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-253-2764. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat and email by clicking this link: https://www.holmesproducts.com/customerservicecontact?cid&#61;contactus. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-05-15</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6297726"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Holmes&amp;reg; Desktop Air Purifier with HEPA-Type Filter &amp;amp; Optional Ionizer:&#13;&#10;Looking for filter for this model. </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Quite</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6012421"> Hello! Thank you for your question. Your HAP242 is an Aer1-ready unit so you may use any of the filters that are part of our Aer1 series. Air purifiers that are Aer1-ready unit can use any filters included in our Aer1 series interchangeably. If you need further assistance, kindly give us a call at 1-800-253-2764. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat and email by clicking this link: https://www.holmesproducts.com/customerservicecontact?cid&#61;contactus. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-05-12</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6305103"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> what size filter does this use </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: lulu04</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6010431"> Hello, lulu04! Thank you for your inquiry. Any AER1 filter is compatible with your HAP242B-U. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-05-11</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6288704"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> I have a unit that resembles this one but I can&#39;t find filters the numbers I have HAP220, HAP221, HAP222, HAP223, HAP2234. Are there different numbers? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Darla Ann</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="6004187"> Hello! Thank you for your inquiry. We understand that you are looking for a replacement filter. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-253-2764. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat and email by clicking this link: https://www.holmesproducts.com/customerservicecontact?cid&#61;contactus. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-05-08</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6153171"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> I was given a HAP242 model air purifier which uses a Size A filter. I have not seen replacement filters anywhere and was wondering if this unit uses a permanent filter? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Gg61</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="5987464"> Hello, Gg61! Thank you for reaching out. This air-purifier uses Aer1 filters including Total Air, Allergen Remover, Odor Eliminator, and Smoke Grabber. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-04-29</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6153132"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Is this a permanent filter? I have not found replacement filters (Size A). </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Gg61</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="5987457"> Hello, Gg61! Thank you for reaching out. This air-purifier uses Aer1 filters including Total Air, Allergen Remover, Odor Eliminator, and Smoke Grabber. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-04-29</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6068117"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> the manual shows a washable pre filter but you don&#39;t have a link about replacing the prefilter. Can you run it without a pre filter? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: nickname_DD</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="5984974"> Hello, nickname_DD! Thank you for reaching out. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-04-28</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6088969"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> what filters does this use </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Kathy Riberio</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="5983594"> Hello, Kathy Riberio! Thank you for reaching out. This air purifier uses the Aer1 HP30 series filters. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-04-27</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6095930"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Are replacement filters available for an older model of the small room size hepa air purifier? Mine still works but I would like to change the removable filter </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Chrissy8151</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="5983528"> Hello, Chrissy8151! Thank you for reaching out. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-04-27</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6052302"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> How do you clean it? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: teresa565</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="5982305"> CLEANING/MAINTENANCE INSTRUCTIONS&#13;&#10;1. Turn the air purifier off and unplug it before cleaning.&#13;&#10;2. The outside of the air purifier can be cleaned with a soft, clean dampened cloth.&#13;&#10;3. The rear air inlet grill can be removed and washed in warm soapy water (not dishwasher safe). Dry before replacing in the unit.&#13;&#10;4. The filtered air outlet can be cleaned of dust with a small, soft brush.&#13;&#10;5. If you wish to clean the inside of the air purifier, please only use a dry, soft cloth to wipe it down.&#13;&#10;WARNING: Do not allow moisture to come in contact with the main housing of the air purifier.&#13;&#10;&#13;&#10;If you need further assistance, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-10-23</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="6032574"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Are additional filters available for this unit at this time? I&#39;ve had a Holmes unit like this one, but can&#39;t get filters for it anymore. </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Elaine E</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="5977054"> Hello, Elaine E! Thank you for reaching out. For assistance regarding the replacement part that you need, please call us at 1-800-546-5637. We&#39;re here for you Monday to Friday from 9:00 am till 6:00 pm EST. You can also contact us through chat. Our product specialists will be more than happy to help you. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: Holmes Consumer Care</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-04-24</div> </div> </div> <div class="bvseo-question-answer" data-questionid="5312901"> <h2 class="bvseo-question"> Will turning off the ionizer reduce the effectiveness of the device? If yes, how much? </h2> <div class="bvseo-question-detail"> </div> <div class="bvseo-author">Asked by: Klaudia</div> <div class="bvseo-answer" data-answerid="4932601"> The ionizer is only meant to be used in situations where the pollutants in your home are at an abnormally high level. You can run your unit 24/7 without the ionizer. However, you will not want to run your ionizer for more than 8 hours in a row. Also, you will want to allow the ionizer to rest, for the same amount of time as its previous use, before being used again. Thank you for your inquiry. <div class="bvseo-author">Answered by: HolmesSupport</div> <div class="bvseo-pubdate">Date published: 2020-07-24</div> </div> </div> </div> <script type="text/javascript"> if (document.getElementById('bvseo-questionsSection')) { document.getElementById('bvseo-questionsSection').style.display = 'none'; } </script> <!--end-questions--> <!--begin-pagination--> <ul id="bvseo-paginationSection"> <li class="bvseo-paginationItem"><a class="bvseo-paginationLink" href="https://www.holmesproducts.com/air-purifiers/desktop/holmes-desktop-hepa-type-air-purifier-with-optional-ionizer-small-air-purifier-hap242b-u/SP_397575.html?&bvrrp=Main_Site-en_US/questions/product/3/SP_397575.htm">Holmes&reg; Desktop HEPA-Type Air Purifier with Optional Ionizer Small Air Purifier (HAP242B-U) Questions - page 3</a></li> </ul> <!--end-pagination--> <ul id="BVSEO_meta" style="display:none!important"> <li data-bvseo="bvDateModified">y_2022, m_12, d_7, h_21CST</li> <li data-bvseo="ps">bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34</li> <li data-bvseo="cp">cp_2, bvpage2n</li> <li data-bvseo="co">co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_177</li> <li data-bvseo="cf">loc_en_US, sid_SP_397575, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]</li> <li data-bvseo="diagnostics">clientName_holmes</li> </ul> <!--end-bvseo-questions--> <ul id="BVSEOSDK_meta" style="display: none !important;"> <li data-bvseo="sdk">bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0</li> <li data-bvseo="sp_mt">CLOUD, getContent, 0ms</li> <li data-bvseo="ct_st">questions, product</li> </ul>